The Board

About half of our Directors represent independent shipowners, the remainder are split between oil company affiliated shipowners and P&I Clubs who are part of the International Group of P&I Clubs.

  • Erik Hånell, Stena Bulk, Sweden (Chairman)
  • Oli Beavon - ITOPF Ltd (Managing Director) 
  • Alex Staring - Euronav NV, Belgium
  • Andre Kostelnik - ExxonMobil, SeaRiver Maritime, Inc., USA
  • Barbara Pickering - Chevron, USA
  • Billy Chiu - BW Maritime Pte Ltd, Singapore
  • Demetrius Harrell - Shell International Trading & Shipping Co Ltd, UK 
  • Christen Guddal - Gard AS, Norway
  • Claus Grønborg - Maersk Tankers A/S, Denmark
  • Hannes Thiede - F. Laeisz Schiffahrtsgesellschaft, Germany
  • Jones Alexandre Barros Soares - Petrobras Transporte SA – Transpetro, Brazil
  • Tetsu Morita - Japan P&I Club, Japan
  • Kevin Mackay - Teekay Shipping, Singapore
  • Khalid Alhammad - Bahri Ship Management, Saudi Arabia
  • Lambros Klaoudatos - BP Shipping Limited, UK
  • Lois Zabrocky - International Seaways Inc, USA
  • Maren Schroeder - Stolt Tankers, Netherlands
  • Nikolas Tsakos - Tsakos Energy Navigation, Greece
  • Ryuichi Takebayashi - Eneos Ocean Ltd, Japan
  • Sue Watkins - Steamship Insurance Management Services, UK
  • Yuji Nishijima - NYK Line, Japan
  • Tony Paulson - West of England P&I Club, UK
  • Zhu Mai Jin - COSCO Shipping Tanker Company Ltd, China

Updated December 2023

Photo shows ITOPF Board Meeting, November 2023, Houston, USA

Vision & Mission Statement

"To be a trusted source of objective technical advice worldwide on preparedness and response to accidental marine spills."
"To promote effective response to marine spills of oil, chemicals and other substances as a means of reducing impacts on the environment and affected communities."