The Board

Our Board members from 15 different countries provide a balanced representation of the ship-owning membership and their insurers, ensuring we have the correct strategic direction.

About half of our directors represent independent shipowners, the remainder are split between oil company affiliated shipowners and P&I Clubs who are part of the International Group of P&I Clubs.

  • Mr P Rodgers - Euronav (Chairman)
  • Dr K J Purnell - ITOPF Ltd (Managing Director)
  • Mr B Chiu - BW Maritime Pte Ltd
  • Ms C Howle - BP Shipping Ltd
  • Mr C Garcia - Transpetro
  • Ms T Gunnlaugsson - ExxonMobil, SeaRiver Maritime Inc
  • Mr E Hanell - Stena Bulk AB
  • Mr J Hare - Assuranceforengen Skuld
  • Dr G Henderson - Shell International Trading & Shipping Co Ltd
  • Mr C Ingerslev - Maersk Tankers
  • Mr D R Kurz - Keystone Shipping Corporation
  • Mr K MacKay - Teekay Shipping


  • Mr P Markides - NYK Line
  • Mr M Martecchini - Stolt Tankers BV
  • Mr S Popravko - SCF-Unicom Management
  • Mr S Rosina - Premuda Group
  • Mr M H Ross - Chevron Shipping Company LLC
  • Mr H Sawabe - Japan Ship Owners' Mutual P&I Association
  • Mr K Takayama - JX Ocean Company Ltd
  • Mr H Thiede - F Laeisz Schiffahrtsgesellschaft
  • Mr C Williams - Steamship Insurance Management Services Ltd
  • Dr Chao Wu - Thomas Miller P&I Club
  • Capt Zhu Mai Jin - China Shipping Tanker Company Ltd